Skip to content

New Med Has Been Great!

February 13, 2011

I honestly don’t have a creative title for this post.

Although, in my defense, I’ve never claimed to be one of “those” talented writers who happen to blog. Nope, not here!

So I’ve been on my 3rd medication for awhile now. Has it been 2 weeks already?

When I first got it, my APRN cautioned to take Benadryl a half hour before the dose of this med. She said that people who don’t sometimes find themselves crawling out of their skin. No bueno.

I was diligent in doing just that. At least for the first week. Then I got lazy. Oopsie!

Thursday and Friday of this week was not good.

I did actually start feeling icky. Restless inside. In a bad way. Like restless legs, but all over your insides. Again, no bueno.

So I quit taking it. Cold stinkin’ turkey.

I am a huge believer in not quitting any medication cold turkey. Such bad things can happen. I remember one time I did quit one med cold turkey and by day 2, you’d think I was going through a hellish detox. I mean, the works; nausea, sweats, feeling nuts. Yeah; not cool. I learned my lesson.

But here I went again with the cold turkey. I promise I’m not a slow learner.

I just hated the feeling. And you know when you start feeling better, so you think you don’t need the med, completely forgetting or blocking out the fact that you feel better BECAUSE of said med? Dumb, dumb, dumb.

My girlfriend and I had a chick flick night on Saturday. I updated her. She kindly commented that she hoped I wouldn’t stop feeling and acting like myself due to stopping the med. That it was so nice to see me so refreshed and social again. She suggested cutting back down to half dose. Because, you see, I had upped my dose, thinking a good thing could only get better. But I have had self-taught lessons in that line of thinking, too. And it was like a smack upside the head.

Duh, Valerie. Go back to original dose. Go back to using Benadryl with it as a crutch. Who cares if it’s a bit annoying. It’s worth the good feeings and sunshine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 7:38 pm

    Good conclusion šŸ™‚ I stopped one cold turkey because I ran out and couldn’t get more – not good. Better to do what I’m told, I guess.

Leave a Reply

