Skip to content

Not Continued Yet…Sorry!

March 22, 2012

I haven’t had the emotional energy yet to do my “continued” saga from my last post. I will, though. I will.

I had to go off-topic for a post today because people are asleep so I can’t scream in pain.

Yep. Owwwww!

At about this time of year, I like to start getting outside at least every 24 hrs for a walk. It’s about 1 mile in length and I can obviously vary the intensity, speed, etc. (this is post-auto accident, since I haven’t seen the inside of my gym with my injury/chronic pain/fibromyalgia, this is as close to a workout as I can get)

It’s nice for several reasons. Stuff like it Gets me outta the house, getting fresh air & its something that my kids can do with me. Bonus.

So each year, I’ll move slower at first. The cobwebs are well settled within all my muscles & ligaments. Expected.

What’s not expected is me having to stop and sit on some random person’s decoration rock thing because my back starts seizing up so bad. Yep.

I’m not supposed to need stupid breaks on this measly 1 mile walk. Nope. This is definitely an all-time low.

I was so mad. I still am, actually. I’m supposed to be getting better, not worse.

So as I’m writhing in agony on the couch after the walk, fighting back tears, the hubs chimes in with, “Maybe you should start out short distances and work your way up…you can’t do this to your body…I’m worried for how you’ll feel tomorrow…”

I’m concerned that it won’t get better enough for me to even increase with time, though.

This is a new type of pain for the past 3 months or so; some addtl yuck added onto the mix. It’s not the normal muscles I’ve been dealing with since my injury & it’s not reacting in any of the same ways. Not cool.

So here I sit, about 2-3 hrs since returning from my death walk, and I’m hurting. My entire back is pissed off, my legs are aching, and my stomach is upset.

Loading up on usual meds with the addition of one of my “big guns”; a little tiny pill that relaxes muscles.

Praying that the pain will subside enough for some shut-eye…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2012 4:09 am

    I’m DREADING spring. Hubs will expect me to get out of the house as the days get warmer. YUCK Look out pain, I’m back for another round of self inflicted misery.

  2. March 23, 2012 6:10 am

    I know it sucks not to be able to do things without having so much pain. It’s awful. I walk 2 miles everyday to keep the juice a flowing.
    I did some gardening and I have to do them in spurts. I remember the days when I could weed my entire garden in no time.
    Rest up friend. And lots of ice!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

